First pollen of the season in KS

Earlier this week on 1/27 we had some excellent weather here in south central Kansas.  Temps hit 70 degrees and the bees became very busy.  They were very gentle this day so I layed down to take a few pics.  When I got down there, I realized they were bringing in pollen.  What a great site.  It may only be some grain dust pollen or something laying around, it was still a welcome sight.  I hope we’re almost out of the hard freezes here.  I have kept good fondant feed on my bees this winter, wrapped them with roofing felt and kept a water source very close to my hives.  I’m hoping that these steps have helped them survive.  So far, all is well !!!

pollen_2015

Leave a Reply

